Ah, routine. Experts say children need it. I’m here to say I do, too, and I’m not a child (most of the time).  As my life has evolved over the last 3 years, so has my routine.  Actually, it hasn’t so much evolved as it’s disappeared.

When I worked in Corporate America, my routine involved getting up, getting my kids ready for daycare and myself presentable so that we could leave the house by 7 a.m.  After dropping them off and getting to the office I was a worker bee until it was time to go pick them up.  Then we came home, I stressed about what was for dinner while berating myself for not having crafted a meal plan AGAIN and dig through my freezer looking for something edible.  Most nights it was just me and the boys since my husband traveled for work four days out of the week.  So they would have a “kid meal” and I’d have cereal or freezer waffles or some other form of convenience food.  We’d play, I’d bathe them and put them to bed and then plop myself in front of the computer or TV for the res of the night because I was too tired to do anything else.

I’m glad that’s no longer my routine.  I’m glad those days are behind me. But now that I’m (finally) starting to find a purpose, I need to create a new routine.  Opening A Life Handmade has been totally different than any other endeavor from the last 3 years. I have so many ideas and things I want to create that it’s often paralyzing.  Where do I start? Which one do I take on first? How much capital do i need to make it happen?  I should be using social media, but how? How much time should I spend looking for new inspiration, looking for places to advertise, creating new products, going to the post office, blogging, etc? And what about my personal life? I don’t want to get to the point where I don’t know what’s for dinner at 5 p.m.  That’s just too stressful for me.

I’m truly craving a routine.  One that will fit with my new job AND my home life. I know it will take time to find one, but I’m probably the most impatient person in the world so I want one NOW.  I’ve found a few resources that talk about routines/schedules for creatives. I actually found them a while ago and…haven’t read them yet. But I really don’t want to take the time to read them.  I just want to DO.

If you have any suggestions on how to find a routine for a creative business and a very full home life, please let me know.  Because I’m kind of all over the place right now and it’s not working for me.  Maybe I should just go back to bed?

